Guest artists: The Water Back Project

“Water Back” is a song. It’s also a grassroots project in collaboration with the Green Bus Tour aimed at getting artists involved in spreading the word about the dire need for us all, individually and as a species, to protect our water. The goal of the project is for artists in all genres to do their own “Water Back” song, making it their own by using as much or as little of the original as each artist desires. To date six artists have recorded their versions of “Water Back”: Brooklyn singer-songwriter Raymond Norwood, creator of the original version and founder of the Water Back Project; a remix by kirtan and hip-hop artist SriKala; Cape Cod pianist-singer Meagan Perry; a hip-hop version expanded from Srikala’s remix by AzItIz from New Orleans (Def Jam) and Truth Now; and eco-minded activist Michael Benedetto from Sheepshead Bay, New York, who sings the acoustic version in the video above. Check out all the current recordings of the song, lyrics and guidelines here.

For the month of June, the Water Back Project is part of the We Love Water Tour, a mobile collaboration of artists and musicians who are bringing joy, creativity and celebration to New York State through meditation, live music and interactive art. The We Love Water Tour will be interacting with farmers, elders and families, visiting communities around New York State who share the same watersheds–the Delaware River, the Catskill Aqueduct and the Croton Reservoir. Click here for a list of tour stops.

Watch these video interviews with musicians Raymond Norwood and Ekayani Chamberlin, the brains behind the Water Back Project, for more about the project, the hydrofracking planned for New York State and the dangers to community drinking water:

“Water Back” by Raymond Norwood

I’m gonna take my water back not gonna let you fracture
I’m gonna take my water back I’m not gonna let you fracture her
I’m gonna take my water back I’m not gonna let you fracture her

Gas man thinks he owns the water
Gas man thinks he owns the air we breathe
Gas man thinks he owns the land son
Gas man thinks he owns you and me

(Chorus)
I’m gonna take my water back I’m not gonna let you fracture her
I’m gonna take my water back I’m not gonna let you fracture her
I don’t need your oil and gas I’m not gonna let you fracture her

Gas man seems to own the politicians
Got no friends inside the agencies
Now’s the time to stand up with our mother, daughter
Government man don’t you tread on me

I didn’t say you could poison me
I didn’t say you could tear me down
Oh no! I didn’t say that
I heard you say that fracking was clean energy
But oh no I didn’t say that

(Chorus)
I’m gonna take my water back I’m not gonna let you fracture her
I’m gonna take my water back I’m not gonna let you fracture her
I don’t need your oil and gas
I’m not going to let you fracture her

“Water Back” © Raymond Norwood. Videos © the filmmakers and are from YouTube.com and Vimeo.com. For more information about the Water Back Project contact Raymond [DOT] Norwood [AT] gmail [DOT] com. 

________________________________________________________________________________

About Diana Rico

Check out her fabulosity at http://www.dianarico.com.
This entry was posted in music, video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest artists: The Water Back Project

  1. Ekayani says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. We started back east and have now reached the southwest thanks to Holy Waters! This is precisely what we hoped would happen..that the message be spread virally! Ola New Mexico! Yur land is beaurifyl. Please protect your legacy of sacred springs and water by spreading by singing recording and posting Water Back!

  2. Meagan Perry says:

    You are a blessing! Thank you so much for posting this. We are in it to win our water back. “One drop at a time” ~Mike McHugh~ I hope sometime we will see you in Taos. And until then, stay strong and we will see you on the bus!!

    Much Love!
    Meg

Leave a Reply

